Volusion User Reviews

Volusion User Reviews

Volusion is one of the most popular online site builders available and is most suited to those budding webmasters who are happy to learn a little html and CSS. How do Volusion customers find the learning curve – is it manageable or too much like hard work? What other good and bad bits are there about Volusion? Read our user reviews to find out…

4+ 8+

Salim – 28/1/14
Review:

STAY AWAY! Servers have so much downtime it’s ridiculous. I also kept getting billed AFTER I cancelled.

Ben- 30/1/14
Review:

I have done some looking around and standard options on other platforms which are not an option on Volusion. Perhaps at £9 per month you get what you pay for. I am saying this, but I wonder if this is a false economy, because I find staff are untrustworthy and only seem concerned with making a fast sale. Their customer service people hype the Volusion websites saying they are capable of more than they really are. Don’t believe promises of “same day” service or even agreed fees with them either. My advice, if you get any agreements over the phone with them, is to get them to confirm it by email, or keep looking at other web building services around.

Javier – 2/2/14
Review:

Glitchy to the extreme. I’ve had so many issues with my Volusion site and no-one in there support team seems to give a crap. Wish I’d gone with Shopify or BigCommerce instead.

Hassan- 1/3/14
Review:

If you are looking to upgrade your existing e-commerce site, don’t bank of getting like for like with Volusion. You can end up paying more for more sophisticated product presentation options and SEO plug ins than Volusion staff lead you to believe. I spent on more outsourcing to get the kind of quality I needed. I was hoping to save money with them, but I could have just paid a web designer instead. I just wanted to make sure I had control of my site’s content, which is why I chose them! In hindsight, I think I made a mistake and am looking to move platforms again in future. This website is not flexible enough to grow with your business and SEO services come as extras and I experienced downtime, which cost me business.

Marina- 6/4/14
Review:

I have nothing but good things to say about Volusion. I have been with them several years now and our business just couldn’t have done so well without them. I recommend them if you are confident learning software – because as with anything, you have to learn new things. On the plus side, I find their staff really go out of their way to help you if you do get stuck and will improve options where possible if you ask them.

I have found the software fairly easy to use after going the hard route of having an HTML site before, where we had to learn coding. The template does everything we need and is easy for customers to find their way around. Knowing what we wanted to get from our site meant we found it easier to steadily build it. I think this could seem over-whelming if you have not had a website before, so beginners may need more help, but their customer support is pretty good. They also constantly improve their system, so it pays to keep track of their changes.

Owen – 17/6/14
Review:

RUBBISH!
The platform is not obvious and can get really confusing and when I tried to get followed with inadequate answers from staff who sometimes sounded like they resented being there, meaning I would have to make further phone calls, only to be left waiting again! One time I heard a T.V. on in the background! They were quick enough to get on the phone to me to sell me stuff though! Don’t touch them. They are only interested in your money.

Eddie – 19/7/14
Review:

I think Volusion is ok *if you have a small site* AND not too many visitors at once. That sums up my site and I haven’t had the kind of problems others have mentioned. Or maybe I’m lucky?

Vince – 22/6/14
Review:

I went online to find a techy forum to see what they said about Volusion before I spent any money with them. I know that sometimes you have to put some work in to get a site ranking well, as I have had two other websites before. I wanted to see how Volusion would help with this and some other stuff. Hardly any of the I.T. experts would touch Volusion. I was recommended to try WordPress, Magento and Big Commerce. I was warned that their sales teams do not always tell you the whole story and lure you into a sale, only to upsell you on basic stuff, including SEO later. I did check them out anyway just to make up my own mind. The techies were right! I suffered down time and their customer service sucks. Steer clear!

Sue – 19/8/14
Review:

Volusion is pretty restrictive. We need to sell items in various colors and sizes. We couldn’t say which ones were unavailable, which probably put some people off. I asked their staff if Volusion was capable of making automatic price changes based on options selected and I was told that these ‘dynamic functions’ were possible. These weren’t.

I paid a computer programmer to code options especially tailored for inclusion into Volusion. To cut a long story short paying others for other flexible functions was not cheap and Volusion told me that what I need is beyond what they can cater for anyway, so they are terminating my agreement. I am left with the bill for coding software to fit with Volusion, which I had originally had the impression I did not need anyway, because they could do it all!

I have no website and am out of pocket. I have lost weeks of precious time too. I am not sure if I am more annoyed at myself for not trusting my instincts and believing their lies or annoyed about the lies Volusion have sold me to get my business in the first place. I think their agents are all on commission only…

Nathan – 21/8/14
Review:

This is an extremely basic e-commerce website, which seems fair, given the low price, but it gets frustrating when you want to really polish the look of your website, so I up-graded to what is now their ‘Pro’ package. I hoped that with a ‘dedicated account specialist’, I could get more from the system. What this actually meant was a one hour consultation to learn my way around, because I never spoke to them again after this first hour. Their templates are nothing special and neither is their functioning, which is actually not very user-friendly. The software is pretty complicated and then I had to set up an FTP account for uploading images which just got ridiculous. I chose them because of Volusion’s claims that the system would be straightforward and what I had read on another review site. They not only misrepresented their company as offering good support but their platform’s ability too. It isn’t obvious how to find your way around and your options for getting a good looking site which ranks well are limited. I got lots of phone calls from their sales representatives trying to get me to buy their SEO services, where they probably make most of their money, because these are not cheap, but when I tried to call them for other support, I was left hanging on the phone for ages. There are other hidden costs too, like the SSL certificate for security and their merchant services. These guys are a rip off and not to be trusted.

Katrina – 1/9/14
Review:

I’ve been with Volusion for several years and haven’t had the kinds of issues other reviewers have. Yeah theres the occasional issue like all the products haven’t uploaded but I’ve got it sorted quickly with help from customer support. I’ve barely had to contact them in the 3 years Ive been a customer. Good service.

Rev – 11/9/14
Review:

Thre’s quite an uphill learning curve with Volusion. If you haven’t made a site before be prepared to spend A LOT of time reading and working your way through instructions. For me personally, it’s been worth it. The site looks good, we’re getting good sales and the VOlusion platform is cheap.

Try Our Comparison Tool Now!